Stephen Foster Handicap Fun Facts

by | 06.15.2013 | 4:57pm
Ron the Greek (5) edges Wise Dan in 2012 Stephen Foster

Three horses used victories in the Stephen Foster as part of their resumes in Horse of the Year campaigns. The three are Black Tie Affair (1991), Saint Liam (2005) and Curlin (2008). In addition, two runner-ups were crowned Horse of the Year: Mineshaft (2003) and Wise Dan (2012).

Victory Gallop owns the stakes and track record for 1 1/8 miles of 1:47.28 established in 1999.

Pat Day and Robby Albarado have won the Stephen Foster three times to lead all riders. Day's Foster victories came in 1985 (Vanlandingham), 1998 (Awesome Again) and 2003 (Perfect Drift). Albarado won the race three consecutive years in 2007 (Flashy Bull), 2008 (Curlin) and 2009 (Macho Again).

Two horses have won the Stephen Foster in consecutive years: Vodika Collins (1982-83) and Recoup The Cash (1994-95). Ron the Greek will attempt to become the third. Pool Play also could become a two-time winner, although not in consecutive years.

Three trainers have won the Stephen Foster twice and all did it in consecutive years: Forrest Kaelin (1982-83 with Vodika Collins), Jere Smith Jr. (1994-95 with Recoup The Cash) and Pat Byrne (1997-98 with City by Night and Awesome Again). Byrne will attempt to win his record third Stephen Foster with Take Charge Indy.

Three horses have won the Stephen Foster and the Breeders' Cup Classic in the same year. Black Tie Affair (1991) and Awesome Again (1998) won both races at Churchill Downs. Saint Liam won his running of the Classic at Belmont Park. The 2013 renewal of the $5 million Classic is scheduled for Nov. 2 at Santa Anita.

Curlin (2008) carried the highest impost of any Stephen Foster winner: 128 pounds.

Colonial Colony (2004) carried the lightest winning Foster impost at 111 pounds.

The Stephen Foster Handicap was elevated to Grade I status in 2002.


Twitter Twitter
Paulick Report on Instagram