TVG Hippity Hop Derby For Del Mar Jockeys Raises $42,500 For PDJF

by | 09.04.2016 | 4:24pm
Joe Talamo wins the TVG Hippity Hop Derby

Joe Talamo was a first-to-last bounce winner of Saturday's third annual TVG Hippity Hop Derby, which pitted riders on the bounce-ball steeds usually occupied by kids from Camp Del Mar as a popular between-races event.

Following Talamo across the line were Tyler Baze, Victor Espinoza and then a virtual dead-heat between Flavien Prat and Rafael Bejarano, coincidentally the 1-2 leaders in the real jockey standings. The “also bounced” group in the Hippity Hop Derby included Kent Desormeaux, Mario Gutierrez, Abel Lezcano, Fenando Perez, Chantal Sutherland, Austin Solis and Jamie Theriot. Hall of Fame riders Mike Smith and Gary Stevens were judges.

The event, organized by TVG's Britney Eurton, raised $42,500 from sponsors alone for the Permanently Disabled Jockey Fund.

Watch the Hippity Hop replay here:

Twitter Twitter
Paulick Report on Instagram