UPDATED: Pharoah Wins Online Vote For ‘Sportsman Of The Year’, Magazine Awards Title To Serena Williams

by | 12.13.2015 | 12:58pm
One of the choices for the NTRA "Moment of the Year" is American Pharoah's Breeders' Cup Classic victory.

The online poll for Sports Illustrated's “Sportsman of the Year” award closed Saturday night, and Triple Crown Champion American Pharoah won the popular vote by a landslide, according to SportsIllustrated.com.

Pharoah closed with 288,824 votes for 47 percent of the total, nearly double that of the second-place finisher the Kansas City Royals. The baseball team had 170,741 votes for 29 percent of the total. Pharoah also overcame the votes for Lionel Messi (35,794), Stephen Curry (25,546), Jordan Speith (15,053), Simone Biles (14,533), Carli Lloyd (12,985), Thomas Davis (10,272), Novak Djokovic (7,891), Ronda Rousey (7,838), Serena Williams (5,520), and Usain Bolt (4,009).

The winner of the Sportsman of the Year award was announced on Sports Illustrated's website on Monday, Dec. 14, as well as on the Today Show Monday morning, with the title actually going to tennis star, Serena Williams.

Read more at SportsIllustrated.com and Horse Racing Nation

Twitter Twitter
Paulick Report on Instagram