North American Trainers Propose Phase-Out of Race Day Medication

by | 08.01.2014 | 4:24pm

The following group of North American trainers has proposed the gradual elimination of race-day medication in the United States.  Under the proposal, no two-year-olds would receive race day medication beginning in 2015, and no horses of any age would receive race day medication starting in 2016.  In addition, this group is supportive of the Racing Medication & Testing Consortium's efforts to approve model rules for twenty-six controlled medications by the RCI board of directors.

“We believe it's time to take a proactive position regarding the administration of race day medication.  American racing has always been a global leader, and it's time to restore confidence in our game and in our international standing,” said D. Wayne Lukas, a Hall of Famer who is one of the trainers supporting this proposal.

Breeders' Cup chairman Bill Farish and Breeders' Cup president and CEO Craig Fravel issued the following statement hours after the announcement:

“On behalf of the Board of Directors of Breeders' Cup Limited we want to acknowledge and applaud the courage of the trainers who have recently pledged their support for the gradual elimination of the use of authorized medications on race day in the United States.  The Breeders' Cup has long advocated for policies that would bring the US in line with other major international racing jurisdictions and we fully support this group of prominent trainers. We believe a broad coalition of tracks and owners also share this view and we are committed to provide support, financial and otherwise, to an effort to implement on a national basis phasing out race-day medications.  We look forward to participating in this initiative to create a workable  plan with others in the industry, including the forward-looking trainers who are signatory to this statement, all of whom are long-time supporters of the Breeders' Cup.”

The list of trainers follows signing the pledge is below.

Thomas Albertrani
Roger Attfield
Christophe Clement
Jose Corrales
David Donk
Neil D. Drysdale
Jeremiah C. Englehart
Eoin Harty
Neil Howard
Michael E. Hushion
D. Wayne Lukas
Richard E. Mandella
Claude R. McGaughey III
Kiaran P. McLaughlin
Kenneth G. McPeek
H. Graham Motion
William I. Mott
Todd A. Pletcher
Kathy Ritvo
Jonathan E. Sheppard
Albert M. Stall, Jr.
Dallas Stewart
Barclay Tagg
William Van Meter
George Weaver

Twitter Twitter
Paulick Report on Instagram