Minnesota Racing Commission Appoints Three Stewards To Canterbury Park

by | 03.19.2019 | 12:00pm
Canterbury Park in Shakopee, Minn.

The Minnesota Racing Commission has appointed David Hooper, David Smith and Stanley Bowker to the Canterbury Park Board of Stewards for its 2019 race meet. The appointments were made at the commission's February meeting.

Hooper, one of last year's Pete Pedersen award recipients for dedicated service and special contributions to the horse racing industry, has been involved in horse racing for more than 50 years, with more than 20 years as a regulator. This also will be his fifth meet as chief steward at Canterbury.

Smith has been a part of the racing industry for more than 30 years and has served as a thoroughbred and quarterhorse steward and standardbred judge at 11 tracks around the country. This will be his fifth season at Canterbury.

Bowker, another 2018 Pete Pedersen recipient, returns to Shakopee after serving as Vice-President and General Manager of Canterbury Downs in 1984. Bowker has spent 51 years in the horse racing industry and is currently chief steward at Oaklawn Park in Hot Springs, Arkansas.

“The Minnesota Racing Commission is proud to have a board of stewards who have demonstrated professional excellence, integrity and benevolent consideration in the performance of their duties, both here in Minnesota and across the country,” said Tom DiPasquale, Minnesota Racing Commission Executive Director.  “Their knowledge and experience will continue our dedication to the integrity of the racing program here in Minnesota.”

The 2019 race meet at Canterbury Park begins May 3.

Twitter Twitter
Paulick Report on Instagram