Emerald Downs Announces 70-Day Racing Season For 2018

by | 11.10.2017 | 5:54pm
Racing at Emerald Downs

Emerald Downs Racetrack and Casino has announced a 70-day live racing season in 2018, with opening day Sunday, April 22 and continuing through Sunday, September 30.

The race dates were approved Thursday by the Washington Horse Racing Commission meeting at Auburn City Hall.

“Its all systems go for 2018 at Emerald Downs,” track president Phil Ziegler said. “We are planning many exciting promotions, but it all begins and ends with our live racing product.”

Opening on Sunday is a first for Emerald Downs, and also the lone day of racing opening week. The track then offers Saturday/Sunday racing April 28-29 and May 5-6, with Friday racing beginning May 11 and continuing throughout the season.

Post times are pretty much the same as previous years: 2 pm Sundays and 6:30 pm Fridays. Saturdays, however, are slightly different in 2018. The first seven Saturdays, April 28 thru June 9, feature a 2 pm post, and the final 16 Saturdays, June 16 thru September 29, have a 5 pm post time. The annual Fireworks Spectacular on Tuesday, July 3, also begins at 5 pm.

The 83rd Longacres Mile (G3) will be held Sunday, August 12, with the complete 2018 stakes schedule released in February.

2018 Emerald Downs Live Race Days

April: Sunday, April 22, 2 pm; Saturday, April 28, 2 pm; Sunday, April 29, 2 pm.

May: Saturday, May 5, 2 pm; Sunday, May 6, 2 p.m.; Friday, May 11, 6:30 pm; Saturday, May 12, 2 pm; Sunday, May 13, 2 pm; Friday, May 18, 6:30 pm; Saturday, May 19, 2 pm; Sunday, May 20, 2 pm; Friday, May 25, 6:30 pm; Saturday, May 26, 2 pm; Sunday, May 27, 2 pm; Monday, May 28, 2 pm.

June: Friday, June 1, 6:30 pm; Saturday, June 2, 2 pm; Sunday, June 3, 2 pm; Friday, June 8, 6:30 pm; Saturday, June 9, 2 pm; Sunday, June 10, 2 pm; Friday, June 15, 6:30 pm; Saturday, June 16, 5 pm; Sunday, June 17, 2 pm; Friday, June 22, 6:30 pm; Saturday, June 23, 5 pm; Sunday, June 24, 2 pm; Friday, June 29, 6:30 pm; Saturday, June 30, 5 pm.

July: Sunday, July 1, 2 pm; Tuesday, July 3, 5 pm; Friday, July 6, 6:30 pm; Saturday, July 7, 5 pm; Sunday, July 8, 2 pm; Friday, July 13, 6:30 pm; Saturday, July 14, 5 pm; Sunday, July 15, 2 pm; Friday, July 20, 6:30 pm; Saturday, July 21, 5 pm; Sunday, July 22, 2 pm; Friday, July 27, 6:30 pm; Saturday, July 28, 5 pm; Sunday, July 29, 2 pm.

August: Friday, Aug 3, 6:30 pm; Saturday, Aug 4, 5 pm; Sunday, Aug 5, 2 pm; Friday, Aug 10, 6:30 pm; Saturday, Aug 11, 5 pm; Sunday, Aug 12, 2 pm; Friday, Aug 17, 6:30 pm; Saturday, Aug 18, 5 pm; Sunday, Aug 19, 2 pm; Friday, Aug 24, 6:30 pm; Saturday, Aug 25, 5 pm; Sunday, Aug 26, 2 pm; Friday, Aug 31, 6:30 pm.

September: Saturday, Sept 1, 5 pm; Sunday, Sept 2, 2 pm; Friday, Sept 7, 6:30 pm; Saturday, Sept 8, 5 pm; Sunday, Sept 9, 2 pm; Friday, Sept 14, 6:30 pm; Saturday, Sept 15, 5 pm; Sunday, Sept 16, 2 pm; Friday, Sept 21, 6:30 pm; Saturday, Sept 22, 5 pm; Sunday, Sept 23, 2 pm; Friday, Sept 28, 6:30 pm; Saturday, Sept 29, 5 pm; Sunday, Sept 30, 2 pm.

  • Monrovia Damon

    Always wanted to visit Emerald Downs — maybe I’ll make a PNW tour next year

    • Shasta Sam

      If you want to visit a track that is fan friendly and doing it right, you should definitely come.

  • Richard C

    Emerald Downs was one of the first tracks to embrace the racing club concept — but this “PSL” includes an owner license issued by the Washington Horse Racing Commission.

  • Brings back memorys of longacers and tuks inn

  • Luke

    Emerald Downs is a super friendly racetrack. The grandstand has great food! And the atmosphere is very friendly there!!

Twitter Twitter
Paulick Report on Instagram