Casner, Flay, Jackson Among Those Elected to Breeders’ Cup

by | 06.09.2014 | 3:45pm

The Breeders' Cup announced today that 23 individuals have won election to serve as Breeders' Cup Members.  Voting by Breeders' Cup foal and stallion nominators was concluded at 5:00 p.m. ET on June 6. The election results are expected to be ratified by the current Breeders' Cup Members at the annual meeting on July 15.

The following individuals received the most votes of the Breeders' Cup nominators to fill 20 Member seats having four year terms:

Antony R. Beck

Craig Bernick

Carter Carnegie

Bill Casner

Hernan Ceriani Cernadas

Case Clay

William S. Farish, Jr.

Bobby Flay

H.  Greg Goodman

Fred W. Hertrich III

Roy Jackson

Bret Jones

Michael T. Levy

Tom Ludt

Anthony Manganaro

Garrett O'Rourke

Dan Pride

Tom Ryan

Bradley Weisbord

David S. Willmot

The following individuals received the next most votes of the Breeders' Cup nominators to fill three Members seats having two year terms:

Thomas Gaines

Dale Romans

William J. Shively

Eleven Members were re-elected to their posts: Antony R. Beck, Bill Casner, Case Clay, William S. Farish, Jr., Bobby Flay, Roy Jackson, Bret Jones, Michael T. Levy, Tom Ludt, Garrett O'Rourke and David Willmot.

Voting, which began on June 2 with 35 candidates on the ballot, was conducted online. Complete elections results may be obtained at the following link:

“We congratulate our new and returning Members to the Breeders' Cup and look forward to their service and expertise in contributing to the growth and stature of our organization,” said Breeders' Cup Chairman Bill Farish.

The Breeders' Cup Members are elected every other year by Breeders' Cup foal and stallion nominators through a proportional voting system based on the level of nominations paid to the organization. There are a total of 39 elected Breeders' Cup Members.

The election of six Breeders' Cup Directors will open on July 9 and will conclude at the July 15 Annual Meeting of Members.   The Breeders' Cup Board of Directors, comprised of 13 elected individuals and the President, oversees the activities of the organization.

Twitter Twitter
Paulick Report on Instagram