by | 11.17.2010 | 12:46am
Robert Clay, the owner of Three Chimneys Farm and vice chairman of the 14-member Breeders' Cup board of directors, did not receive enough votes from nominators to retain his seat on the organization's 48-person board of members and trustees, the Paulick Report has learned. In something of a changing of the guard for the Breeders' Cup, Clay was one of four incumbents on the board of members and trustees who was not re-elected. The others were Robert Cromartie, Leverett Miller and Joseph Shields Jr., the latter also a member of the smaller board of directors.

Voting took place during June, with nominators getting one vote for each $500 spent for foal or stallion nominations. Farms with major stallions or a large number of nominated foals had the largest blocs of votes.

Elected to the board of members and trustees were Helen Alexander, Doug Cauthen, Bill Farish Jr., Terry Finley, Lucy Young Hamilton, Maria Niarchos-Gouaze, Charles Nuckols III, Bill Oppenheim, Don Robinson, Mark Taylor, Charlotte Weber, and Barry Weisbord. Of that group, Alexander, Farish, Young Hamilton, Niarchos-Gouaze, Nuckols, and Taylor were re-elected. Farish, son of Lane's End owner William S. Farish, is chairman of the Breeders' Cup board.

The nine nominated for board of members and trustees positions but not receiving enough votes for election were: Clay,  Cromartie, Bobby Flay, Arnold Kirkpatrick, Allan Lavin Jr., James McAlpine, Miller, Shields Jr., and  Ric Waldman.

The primary purpose of the 48-member board of members and trustees is to elect 13 members to two-year terms on the board of directors (the 14th board seat is filled by Breeders' Cup CEO Greg Avioli). To be elected or re-elected to the board of directors, an individual must be on the larger board of members and trustees. That group meets in Lexington, Ky., July 11 to elect seven individuals for the open positions on the board of directors. Two of the seven — Clay and Shields — are now ineligible to run. The other five whose terms are expiring and will be eligible for re-election are Antony Beck, Farish, Finley, R.D. Hubbard and Satish Sanan.

By Ray Paulick

Copyright ©2008, The Paulick Report

Twitter Twitter
Paulick Report on Instagram