World Super Jockeys: Ryan Moore in Close 2nd, Stevens 13th After Day One

by | 11.30.2013 | 11:04am
Ryan Moore

The World Super Jockeys Series (WSJS), a popular annual event in Japan and throughout the world, is a championship that brings together fifteen outstanding jockeys from Europe, North America, Oceania, Asia and Japan. Points are awarded to each jockey according to their placing in the race, and the total points accumulated from the four races run over the two-day period is calculated at the end of the second day to determine the champion. This year's Series includes the following jockeys: Gary Stevens (USA) from North America; Patrick Joseph Smullen (IRE), Richard Hughes (GB), Ryan Moore (GB), Andrasch Starke (GER) and Maxime Guyon (FR) representing Europe; Craig Williams (AUS) from Oceania; Douglas Whyte (HK) representing Asia; Keita Tosaki, Hiroyuki Uchida, Yuichi Fukunaga, Suguru Hamanaka, Yuga Kawada and Yasunari Iwata from JRA, and Shoichi Kawahara from the National Association of Racing (NAR).

Zachary Purton, who represented Hong Kong in the series last year, captured the WSJS title in his first attempt, having collected 52 points from two wins, a fifth and a tenth in the four-race series. JRA's 2012 leader Suguru Hamanaka was the runner-up with 40 points and a win in the Marvelous Jockeys Trophy, while Ryan Moore from Britain, who was the series champion in 2010, claimed third place in 2012.

After the first day, Keita Tosaki, in his first year as a JRA jockey after transferring from the NAR this season, and in his first challenge in the World Super Jockeys Series, is at the top of the board, claiming a win in the first race and a 10th in the second to register a total of 22 points. Following in close pursuit is Great Britain's Ryan Moore with 21 points in second, and the top five jockeys are currently placed within a six-point range.

Tied in fourth place is 2007 Champion Craig Williams, ranked at sixth is 2004 Champion Douglas Whyte while 1997 Champion Shoichi Kawahara is struggling at ninth and 2005 Champion Yasunari Iwata at 11th. American jockey Gary Stevens is in 13th place after the first day's point tally. This year's series champion will be determined after the last two legs—10th and 12th race—that will be held tomorrow at the same venue.

2013 World Super Jockeys Series Points, Day 1 – Nov. 30, 2013:
1) Keita Tosaki (JRA): 22
2) Ryan Moore (GB): 21
3) Yuichi Fukunaga (JRA): 18
4) Richard Hughes (GB): 16
5) Craig Williams (AUS): 16
6) Douglas Whyte (HK): 15
7) Andrasch Starke (GER): 14
8) Patrick Smullen (IRE): 13
9) Shoichi Kawahara (NAR): 12
10) Maxime Guyon (FR): 11
11) Yasunari Iwata (JRA): 8
12) Suguru Hamanaka: (JRA) 7
13) Gary Stevens (USA): 6
14) Hiroyuki Uchida (JRA): 6
15) Yuga Kawada (JRA): 5
*1st: 20 points / 2nd: 15 points / 3rd: 13 points / 4th: 11 points / 5th: 10 points / 6th: 6 points / 7th: 5 points / 8th: 4 points /

Read more at Japan Racing Association

Twitter Twitter
Paulick Report on Instagram