University Of Louisville’s Jack Carlino Accepted Into Darley ‘Flying Start’ Program

by | 05.16.2016 | 4:23pm
UofL grad Jack Carlino has been accepted into the Darley Flying Start program.

A recent graduate of the University of Louisville's Equine Industry Program, 21-year-old Jack Carlino has been accepted into the prestigious Darley Flying Start program. The two-year scholarship will allow Carlino to earn a Graduate Certificate in Management via accreditation from the University College Smurfit Business School, while also providing the opportunity to learn and experience management operations and leadership in the global Thoroughbred industry.

From Pheonix, Arizona, Carlino was introduced to horse racing on a family vacation, when his father took him to Del Mar Thoroughbred Club nearly seven years ago. When he was a sophomore at the University of Louisville, Carlino participated in a summer internship program at Del Mar.

“I just kind of got hooked on it,” he said. “I don't know what I want to do for a career yet, but I'd like it to be something in racing.”

Carlino is also a member of the four-man production team featured on “The King's Court,” a YouTube series that discusses major horse racing action. Other members include Matt Dinerman, the track announcer at Emerald Downs, Jose Abdon Santos, jock agent for Didiel Osorio, and Cody Caudill, jock agent for Sonny Leon. Following is a link to the latest episode, with post-Kentucky Derby weekend reactions.

Graduates of Darley Flying Start are running their own enterprises or working for Thoroughbred industry leaders throughout Europe, in the USA, Canada, South America, Asia, South Africa, New Zealand, Middle East and Australia. Career areas include media, racing, breeding, bloodstock, sales, consultancy, veterinary, racetrack management and marketing.

In August 2016 Darley Flying Start will change its name to Godolphin Flying Start. The existing course structure, content and management will remain the same. Course Manager Clodagh Kavanagh says “I am delighted to announce the 2016 scholarship recipients. I look forward to launching our new name and logo in August following the graduation of the current second year trainees and before the 2016 trainees commence”.

The full list of 2016 – 2018 trainees are: Jessica Berry (USA), Joe Callan (Ireland), Jack Carlino (USA), Tim Donworth (Ireland), Christopher Farrell (Ireland), Megan Hebbert (UK), Amie Karlsson (Sweden), Luke Morgan (Ireland), Todd Pollard (New Zealand), Laura Pouri-Robertson (New Zealand), Madison Scott (USA), and Renshuai YI (China).

The 12 will commence their training at Kildangan Stud in Ireland on the 15th of August 2016.

Twitter Twitter
Paulick Report on Instagram