TOBA Honors Owners, Breeders At Annual Event

by | 09.10.2018 | 1:03am
Charlotte Weber, shown with trainer Mark Casse after her World Approval won the Breeders' Cup Mile, was named national breeder of the year by the Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association

The Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association's 33rd Annual National Awards Dinner was held at the Woodford Reserve Club at Kroger Field in Lexington, Ky. on Saturday, September 8. Bob Edwards of e Five Racing was named TOBA's National Owner of the Year, and Charlotte Weber was named the National Breeder of the Year. Isabelle Haskell de Tomaso was named National Small Breeder of the Year and Win Approval, was honored with the National Broodmare of the Year title.

The National Awards Dinner, hosted by Jill Byrne of Breeders' Cup Limited,
also honored the achievements of Thoroughbred owners in the four major North American
racing regions and breeders in 23 states and Canada.

Mended, who won the 2017 Claiming Crown Jewel Stakes, was honored with Claiming
Crown Horse of the Year, presented by the National HBPA.

The Rood & Riddle Sport Horse of the Year went to Argyle, owned by Skyeler Voss. This award was presented to the owner of the ex-Thoroughbred that has accumulated the most points in competition, as tracked by the United States Equestrian Federation.

In addition, George Strawbridge received the Robert N. Clay Award. In partnership with the Equine Land Conservation Resource, this award recognizes a member of the Thoroughbred community who has made an outstanding contribution to preserving land for equine use.

The State Breeders of the Year toured Spendthrift Farm and were honored at an awards luncheon at Portofino's on Friday, September 7.

A complete list of winners is as follows:
Finalist for Owner of the Year:
e Five Racing
Juddmonte Farms
Rockingham Ranch
Winchell Thoroughbreds & Three Chimneys Farm

State Breeders of the Year:
Arkansas: McDowell Farm
California: Richard Barton
Canada: K5 Stables
Florida: Charlotte Weber
Illinois: Nancy Vanier
Indiana: Michael E. & Penny S. Lauer
Iowa: H. Allen Poindexter
Kansas: Rocking G Horse & Cattle
Kentucky: Charles Fipke
Louisiana: Richard Klein
Maryland: Howard M. Bender
Massachusetts: Joseph DiRico
Michigan: Lisa Campbell
Minnesota: Curtis A. Sampson
New Jersey: Isabelle Haskell de Tomaso
New York: Chester & Mary Broman
North Carolina: Nancy Shuford
Ohio: Robin Murphy
Oregon: James and Carol Owens
South Carolina: Franklin G. Smith Sr.
Texas: Craig Upham
Virginia: Mr. & Mrs. C. Oliver Iselin
Washington: Tim and Nicole Floyd

National Broodmare of the Year:
Win Approval

Claiming Crown Horse of the Year:

Rood & Riddle Thoroughbred Sport Horse of the Year:

Robert N. Clay Award:
George Strawbridge

Twitter Twitter
Paulick Report on Instagram