TOBA Honors Klaravich And Lawrence, WinStar At National Awards Dinner

by | 09.11.2017 | 5:31pm

The Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association's 32nd Annual National Awards Dinner was held at Calumet Farm in Lexington, Ky. on Saturday, September 9. Klaravich Stables and William H. Lawrence were named TOBA's National Owner of the Year, and WinStar Farm was named the National Breeder of the Year. Robert Manfuso was named National Small Breeder of the Year and Leslie's Lady, dam of Beholder, was honored with the National Broodmare of the Year title.

The National Awards Dinner, hosted by Jill Byrne of Breeders' Cup Limited, also honored the achievements of Thoroughbred owners in the four major North American racing regions and breeders in 23 states and Canada.

Royal Posse, who won the 2016 Claiming Crown Jewel Stakes, was honored with Claiming Crown Horse of the Year, presented by the National HBPA.

The Rood & Riddle Sport Horse of the Year went to Zine Dine, owned by Hailey Rogge. This award was presented to the owner of the ex-Thoroughbred that has accumulated the most points in competition, as tracked by the United States Equestrian Federation.

In addition, the Heubeck family received the Robert N. Clay Award. In partnership with the Equine Land Conservation Resource, this award recognizes a member of the Thoroughbred community who has made an outstanding contribution to preserving land for equine use.

The State Breeders of the Year toured Claiborne Farm and were honored at an awards luncheon at Dudley's on Friday, September 8.

A complete list of winners is as follows:

Regional Owners of the Year:

Eastern Region: Juddmonte Farms

Midwestern Region: John Oxley

Southern Region: Klaravich Stables and William H. Lawrence

Western Region: Spendthrift Farm

State Breeders of the Year:

Arkansas: McDowell Farm

California: Heinz Steinmann

Canada: David and Adrian Munro

Florida: Gilbert Campbell

Illinois: Barney and Anne Gallagher

Indiana: Michael E. & Penny S. Lauer

Iowa: H. Allen Poindexter

Kansas: Rocking G Horse & Cattle

Kentucky: WinStar Farm

Louisiana: Irwin Olian

Maryland: Robert Manfuso

Massachusetts: Kenneth Posco

Michigan: Lisa Campbell

Minnesota: Richard Bremer and Cheryl Sprick

New Jersey: Daniel Lopez

New York: Chester & Mary Broman

North Carolina: Nancy Shuford

Ohio: Tim Hamm

Oregon: Neil Knapp

South Carolina: Franklin G. Smith Sr.

Texas: Craig Upham

Virginia: William M. Backer

Washington: Jean and Jeff Harris

National Broodmare of the Year:

Leslie's Lady

Claiming Crown Horse of the Year:

Royal Posse

Rood & Riddle Thoroughbred Sport Horse of the Year:

Zine Dine

Robert N. Clay Award:

The Heubeck Family

National Awards Dinner sponsors include Calumet Farm, LUXAIR Jets, Stoll Keenon Ogden, The Stronach Group and Adena Springs, H.E. “Tex” Sutton Forwarding Company, Jackson Family Wines, Tito's Handmade Vodka, West Sixth Brewing, National HBPA, FLAIR Nasal Strips, NTRA Advantage, John Deere, The Horse and BloodHorse.

Twitter Twitter
Paulick Report on Instagram