TOBA Announces Five Finalists For National Owner Of The Year Award

by | 08.22.2019 | 4:24pm
Tacitus (Tapit) and jockey Jose Ortiz win the Wood Memorial (Gr II) at Aqueduct Racetrack 4/6/19. Trainer: Bill Mott. Owner: Juddmonte Farms

The Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association announced today that Juddmonte Farm, Hronis Racing, Klaravich Stable, Rockingham Ranch and Peter M. Brant have been selected as finalists for the TOBA National Owner of the Year.

The TOBA National Owner of the Year will be announced live at the TOBA National Awards Dinner presented by Red Brand, which will be held on Saturday, September 7 at Fasig-Tipton in Lexington, Ky.

TOBA will also honor breeders from 22 states and Canada. The National Breeder of the Year and the National Small Breeder of the Year will also be revealed at the TOBA National Awards Dinner. James E. “Ted” Bassett will be presented with the TOBA Industry Service Award and John D. Gunther will receive the prestigious Triple Crown Breeders Trophy for homebred Justify.

Other TOBA national award winners include Stage Magic, dam of Justify, who has been named as the National Broodmare of the Year and Aztec Sense, who will be honored as Claiming Crown Horse of the Year, presented by the National HBPA.

The Rood & Riddle Sport Horse of the Year will go to Archie Rocks, owned by Maya Simmons and Wayne and Susie Chatfield-Taylor will receive the Robert N. Clay Award, which recognizes a member of the Thoroughbred community who has made an outstanding contribution to preserving land for equine use.

“It is a great honor and privilege for TOBA to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of these owners, breeders and horses,” said Dan Metzger, president of TOBA. “They achieved remarkable success in 2018 and we look forward to celebrating with them in what promises to be a memorable evening at Fasig-Tipton.”

Tickets to the TOBA National Awards Dinner can be purchased at or by calling Meredith Downey at (859) 276-6793.

A complete list of state winners is as follows:

State Breeders of the Year:
Arkansas: Bill McDowell
California: Premier Thoroughbreds
Canada: Cam Ziprick and Arnason Farms
Florida: Ocala Stud
Indiana: Michael E. and Penny S. Lauer
Iowa: Allen Poindexter
Kansas: Jerry Johnson
Kentucky: Godolphin
Louisiana: Bill and Al Ulwelling
Maryland: Richard Golden
Massachusetts: George Brown (posthumously)
Minnesota: Joel and Kris Zamzow
New Jersey: Sam Fieramosca
New Mexico: R.D. Hubbard
New York: Chester and Mary Broman
North Carolina: Dr. Frank Batten
Ohio: Steve DeMaiolo
Oregon: Paul Hagemann
Pennsylvania co-breeder: Elizabeth Moran
Pennsylvania co-breeder: Thomas and Lori Fackler
South Carolina: Franklin Smith Sr.
Texas: W.S. Farish
Virginia: William M. Backer Trust
Washington: Delores Christianson

National Awards Dinner sponsors include Red Brand Fence, Jackson Family Wines (Official Wine Sponsor of the 2018 TOBA National Awards Dinner), Fasig-Tipton, NTRA Advantage and John Deere, Stoll Keenon Ogden, National HBPA The Stronach Group, H.E. “Tex” Sutton Forwarding Company, Buffalo Trace, Plusvital,, The Horse and BloodHorse LLC.

Twitter Twitter
Paulick Report on Instagram