Irad Ortiz Brings Home Bill Shoemaker Award For Pair Of Breeders’ Cup Victories

by | 11.03.2018 | 7:46pm
Irad Ortiz celebrates as Newspaperofrecord wins the Breeders' Cup Juvenile Fillies Turf

Irad Ortiz Jr., who won two races and finished in the top four in five other races from 13 mounts, won the 16th Bill Shoemaker Award, given to the most outstanding jockey of the World Championships hosted by Churchill Downs.

The Shoemaker Award is based on a 10-4-2-1 scoring system on first- through fourth-place finishes in each of the 14 Breeders' Cup World Championship races.

Ortiz collected 35 points to edge Joel Rosario (32) and Javier Castellano (30).

Ortiz's victories came aboard Newspaperofrecord in Friday's Juvenile Fillies Turf and Shamrock Rose in Saturday's Filly & Mare Sprint. He finished second three times with Uncle Benny (Juvenile Turf), World of Trouble (Turf Sprint) and Gunnevera (Classic). He also had one third-place finish (Analyze It in the Mile) and a fourth (Firenze Fire in the Dirt Mile).

Rosario rode three winners headed by Accelerate in the Classic and 2-year-old winners Friday in the Sentient Jet Juvenile with Game Winner and the Tito's Handmade Vodka Juvenile Fillies with Jaywalk. He also had a third-place finish in the Turf Sprint on Disco Partner.

Two other riders won two races: Castellano with Bulletin (Juvenile Turf Sprint) and City of Light (Dirt Mile), and Frankie Dettori with Enable (Longines Turf) and Expert Eye (Mile).

The Shoemaker Award is named in honor of one of the greatest jockeys in the history of Thoroughbred racing. Shoemaker, who captured the Kentucky Derby four times, won more than 8,800 races in a career that spanned more than 40 years. In 1987, at age 56, Shoemaker won the Breeders' Cup Classic aboard Ferdinand at Hollywood Park.

Bill Shoemaker Award winners:

2003: Alex Solis

2004: John Velazquez

2005: Garrett Gomez

2006: Frankie Dettori

2007: Garrett Gomez

2008: Garrett Gomez

2009: Julien Leparoux

2010: Garrett Gomez

2011: John Velazquez

2012: Mike Smith

2013: Mike Smith

2014: John Velazquez

2015: Ryan Moore

2016: Mike Smith

2017: Javier Castellano

2018: Irad Ortiz Jr.

Twitter Twitter
Paulick Report on Instagram