Hertrich Re-Elected Breeders’ Cup Chairman; Bret Jones New Vice Chairman

by | 09.12.2019 | 11:10pm
Fred W. Hertrich III re-elected chairman of the Breeders' Cup board of directors

At its meeting on Thursday, the Breeders' Cup board of directors unanimously re-elected Fred W. Hertrich III as board chairman. Hertrich, owner of Watercress Farm in Paris, Ky., was elected as chairman in 2017. He will serve a two-year term.

Bret Jones of Airdrie Stud, a Breeders' Cup Director since 2011, was elected vice chairman.

“I am pleased and proud to once again serve as chairman of the Breeders' Cup and in conjunction with our directors, members and nominators, will continue working diligently to enhance the prestige and popularity of the Breeders' Cup World Championships, and our associated racing programs, for our horsemen and fans on a global basis,” said Hertrich. “On behalf of our fellow directors, we extend our warmest congratulations to new vice chairman Bret Jones upon his election.”

Following today's election, the board of 14 directors is as follows:  Barbara Banke, Stonestreet Stables; Antony Beck, Gainesway Farm; Alan Cooper, Niarchos Family/Flaxman Holdings Ltd.; William S. Farish, Jr., Lane's End Farm; Craig Fravel, president & CEO of the Breeders' Cup; Walker Hancock, Claiborne Farm;  Fred Hertrich (chairman), Watercress Farm; Bret Jones, (vice chairman), Airdrie Stud; Anthony Manganaro, Siena Farm; Clem Murphy, Coolmore Stud; Gavin Murphy, SF Bloodstock;  Mike Rogers, The Stronach Group; Alex Solis II, Solis/Litt Bloodstock and Elliott Walden, WinStar Farm.

Twitter Twitter
Paulick Report on Instagram