Cutler Klein Awarded Sports Journalism Scholarship From TRA

by | 07.07.2015 | 12:30pm
Vanderbilt graduates and famed sportswriters Fred Russell (left) and Grantland Rice

Cutler Klein will enter the freshman class at Vanderbilt University as the 2015 recipient of the 57th Fred Russell-Grantland Rice TRA Scholarship for sports journalism, it was announced Tuesday by the Thoroughbred Racing Associations (TRA).

Klein, who graduated Magna Cum Laude from Horace Greeley High School in Chappaqua, NY, was selected from a record 422 applicants for this year's scholarship in the amount of $25,000 per year for four years at Vanderbilt.

Named in honor of two legendary sports writing alumni of Vanderbilt, the scholarship has an extraordinary record of producing prominent and successful writers and television personalities, including Roy Blount, Jr., Bill Livingston, Skip Bayless, John (Joe Bob Briggs) Bloom, David Sheinin, Tyler Kepner, Lee Jenkins, and Daniel Wolken.

Klein received numerous academic awards while in high school, including the Williams College Book Award, the Class Advisors' Award, the Senior History Award and the James P. Wrinn award for Spanish. He also played on the JV tennis team and ski team along with serving as public address announcer for the school hockey team.

As a senior, he was the managing editor for the Greeley Tribune, having previously served as columnist and sports editor. He also attended an intensive journalism program at the Medill-Northwestern Journalism Institute in the summer of 2014. He has written, blogged, and tweeted extensively for a number of websites, hosted podcasts, and is Executive Consultant/founding member of, an online start-up sports blog. He also hosted an online streaming radio show focusing primarily on NHL hockey, along with covering local high school sports in northern Westchester County for The Examiner.

He plans to major in Communication Studies at Vanderbilt and hopes to pursue a career in sports media.

The scholarship winners, selected by a panel chaired by Oaklawn Park President Charles J. Cella, have distinguished themselves not just in sports writing and broadcasting, but in other fields as well.

The scholarship honors Vanderbilt alumni Grantland Rice and Fred Russell, two of the greatest sports writers of all time.  Initially, the scholarship was created in 1956 to honor Grantland Rice, the dean of American sports writing, who died in 1954. The scholarship received a funding endowment from Mr. Cella on behalf of the TRA in 1986, and its name was amended to include the late Fred Russell, the famed Nashville Banner sports columnist for 69 years and a mentor to many of the scholarship winners.

The four-year scholarship is co-sponsored by Vanderbilt University and the TRA and is awarded to an outstanding high school senior with special interest and potential in the field of sports writing.  The TRA represents 44 member racing associations conducting Thoroughbred racing at 40 racetracks in North America.

Fred Russell-Grantland Rice TRA Sports Journalism Scholarship Winners

Year                 Recipient

1956                 Charles D. Nord

1957                 Thomas E. Templin

1958                 Larry G. Daughtrey

1959                 Roy Blount Jr.

1960                 Saxon Kim Chapin

1961                 Thomas D. Quinn

1962                 Robert E. Theil

1963                 Richard S. Osborne

1964                 Leonard Goldstein

1965                 Michael Kiernan

1966                 William Livingston

1967                 Barry M. Morris

1968                 Dennis P. McAuliffe

1969                 David R. Rapp

1970                 Skip Bayless

1971                 John I. Bloom

1972                 Irving Muchnik

1973                 Kevin E. Cuneo

1974                 Kevin McDonald

1975                 David Brooks

1976                 Michael L. Jackson

1977                 Edward O. Wilson

1979                 Kenneth C. Ray

1980                 Zachary V. Wenger

1980                 Andrew Byer

1981                 Charles R. Bush

1982                 Mike Cornwell

1983                 Tena Bozicevic Herlihy

1984                 Thomas J. Wilson

1984                 Chuck Manson

1985                 Paul J. Richman

1986                 Michael Holmes

1987                 David Sheinin

1988                 Andrew Maraniss

1989                 Mitchell Light

1990                 Clay Hensley

1991                 Matthew O'Keefe

1992                 Andrew M. Derr

1993                 Tyler Kepner

1994                 Allan L. Owen

1995                 Lee Jenkins

1996                 Not Awarded

1997                 Daniel J. Wolken

1998                 Samuel H. Heide

1999                 Jeffrey D. Lowe

2000                 Matthew James Meenan

2001                 Robert Craig Murray III

2002                 Byron Patrick Dubow

2003                 Matthew Collins McDavid

2004                 Christopher F. Callaway

2005                 Not Awarded

2006                 Not Awarded

2007                 David A. Namm

2008                 Meghan Rose

2009                 Eric Single

2010                 Jack Kuhlenschmidt

2010                 Jackson Martin

2011                 Matthew Citak

2011                 Anthony Tripodoro

2012                 Adam Birnbaum

2012                 Benjamin Weinrib

2012                 Nathaniel Heagney

2013                 Thomas McGrath

2013                 Caroline Meisel

2014                 William Huesken

2015                 Cutler Klein

Twitter Twitter
Paulick Report on Instagram