Three Grade 1 Races Highlight Fall Stars Saturday At Keeneland

by | 10.05.2016 | 5:08pm
Tepin comes home much the best in the 2015 First Lady. She will attempt to defend her title on Saturday

Susan and Jim Hill's Grand Arch will try to become the third back-to-back winner of the $1 million Shadwell Turf Mile (G1) when he takes on 10 rivals in Saturday's 31st running of the race. The Shadwell Turf Mile is one of three Grade 1 races Saturday afternoon on a 10-race program that features two other graded stakes.

The Shadwell Turf Mile, the third of three Grade 1 races on Saturday, is the afternoon's ninth race with a 5:45 p.m. ET post time. First post time that day is 1:05 p.m.

The race is a “Win and You're In” challenge race for the Breeders' Cup Mile (G1) to be run Nov. 5 at Santa Anita.

NBC will present live coverage of the Shadwell Turf Mile and the Claiborne Breeders' Futurity (G1) as part of a 5-6 p.m. telecast called the “Breeders' Cup Challenge Win and You're In Series presented by Lane's End Farm and America's Best Racing.”

Trained by Brian Lynch, Grand Arch is winless in three starts in 2016. He is coming off a third-place finish in the Fourstardave (G1) at Saratoga on Aug. 20. Luis Saez has the mount and will break from post position five.

Grand Arch will attempt to join the other consecutive winners of the Shadwell Turf Mile: Gio Ponti (2010-2011) and Dumaani (1995-1996).

Chief among Grand Arch's rivals is Geoff and Sandra Turnbull's Mondialiste (IRE) and The Club Racing, Allen Rosenblum and Sagamore Farm's Miss Temple City.

Trained by David O'Meara, Mondialiste returns to Keeneland where he finished second in last year's Breeders' Cup Mile in which he finished 1½ lengths in front of Grand Arch. Winner of the Arlington Million (G1) in his most recent start, Mondialiste will be ridden by Danny Tudhope and break from post position four.

Trained by Graham Motion, Miss Temple City became the first filly to win the Maker's 46 Mile (G1) here this spring. Fifth in the Ballston Spa (G2) at Saratoga in her most recent start, Miss Temple City will be ridden by Edgar Prado and break from post position seven.

Three other Grade 1 winners are in the race that produced next-out Breeders' Cup Mile winners Wise Dan (2012-2013) and Steinlen (GB) (1989). Included in the trio are the past two winners of the Frank E. Kilroe Mile at Santa Anita, Ring Weekend (2015) and What a View (2016), as well as Fourstardave winner Tourist.

The field for the Shadwell Turf Mile with riders and weights from the rail out is: Triple Threat (FR) (Paco Lopez, 126 pounds), Pleuven (FR) (Corey Lanerie, 126), Tower of Texas (Julien Leparoux, 126), Mondialiste (IRE) (Tudhope, 126), Grand Arch (Saez, 126), Kasaqui (ARG) (Robby Albarado, 126), Miss Temple City (Prado, 123), Ironicus (Jose Ortiz, 126), Ring Weekend (Junior Alvarado, 126), Tourist (Jose Lezcano, 126) and What a View (Kent Desormeaux, 126).

First Lady

Robert Masterson's Tepin, winner of eight consecutive races and one of the top grass milers in the world, will take on nine other fillies and mares Saturday as she aims to become the first horse to win the $400,000 First Lady (G1) in consecutive years.

The 19th running of the one-mile turf test for fillies and mares will go as the seventh race Saturday with a 4:35 p.m. post time.

Trained by Mark Casse, Tepin began her win streak with a seven-length victory in last year's First Lady and followed that with the first of her three victories over males in the Breeders' Cup Mile (G1) at Keeneland.

Her past two victories have come against the boys with an overseas triumph at England's Royal Ascot in the Queen Anne (G1) and at Woodbine in the Woodbine Mile (G1) last month.

Regular rider Julien Leparoux has the call Saturday and will break from post position two.

No 3-year-old filly has won the First Lady, but two will try Saturday.

Joseph Allen and Peter Brant's Nemoralia, who was third in the Breeders' Cup Juvenile Fillies Turf (G1) here last fall, is trained by Jeremy Noseda and will be ridden by Joe Bravo. She will break from post position five.

Qatar Racing's Now Or Never (IRE) is a Group 3 winner this year at Leopardstown in Ireland and is trained by Michael O'Callaghan. Luis Saez has the mount on Now Or Never, who will break from post position four.

The field for the First Lady with riders and weights from the rail out is: She's Not Here (Jose Lezcano, 124 pounds), Tepin (Leparoux, 124), Cash Control (Shaun Bridgmohan, 124), Now Or Never (IRE) (Saez, 121), Nemoralia (Bravo, 121), Mississippi Delta (Corey Lanerie, 124), Secret Someone (Robby Albarado, 124), Celestine (Junior Alvarado, 124), Onus (Jose Ortiz, 124) and Photo Call (IRE) (Kent Desormeaux, 124).

Claiborne Breeders' Futurity

In the race immediately following the First Lady, a dozen 2-year-olds will go postward in the 103rd running of the $500,000 Claiborne Breeders' Futurity (G1) at 1 1/16 miles on the main track.

Three graded stakes winners top the roster of contenders for the race, and favoritism likely will go to John Oxley's Classic Empire.

Trained by Mark Casse, Classic Empire won his first two starts including the Bashford Manor (G3) at Churchill Downs. In his most recent start, he wheeled at the start of the Hopeful (G1) at Saratoga as the favorite and dumped rider Irad Ortiz Jr.

Julien Leparoux, who was aboard for the first two victories, has the call Saturday and will break from post position 11.

Also coming out of the Hopeful is Joseph Sutton's Bitumen.

A winner at first asking at Churchill Downs and then the winner of the Sanford (G3) at Saratoga, Bitumen finished fourth in the Hopeful. Trained by Eddie Kenneally, Bitumen will be ridden by Corey Lanerie and break from post position one.

Invading from South Florida is Peacock Racing Stables' Gunnevera. Trained by Antonio Sano, Gunnevera has won his past two races with the latter coming in the Saratoga Special (G2). Jesus Rios has the mount Saturday and will break from post position two.

The field for the Claiborne Breeders' Futurity with riders from the rail out is: Bitumen (Lanerie), Gunnevera (Rios), Singing Bullet (Jose Lezcano), Perro Rojo (Luis Saez), Tiz Trevor (Ty Kennedy), Blame Will (Robby Albarado), Holiday Bonus (Jose Ortiz), Wild Shot (Brian Hernandez Jr.), No Dozing (Joe Bravo), Honor Thy Father (Calvin Borel), Classic Empire (Leparoux) and Lookin At Lee (Ricardo Santana Jr.). All starters will carry 121 pounds.

Twitter Twitter
Paulick Report on Instagram