Turfy Stronach 5 On Tap For Valentine’s Day

by | 02.12.2020 | 3:31pm

Three turf races, four tracks and a $100,000 guaranteed pool highlight Friday's Valentine's Day edition of the popular Stronach 5.

The Stronach 5, with an industry-low 12-percent takeout, will kick off at 3:50 p.m. with an 11-horse field going 5 ½ furlongs Laurel Park's eighth race. After moving to Gulfstream Park for its seventh race, a mile turf race, and then Golden Gate Fields for a 5 ½ furlong dash, the Stronach 5 concludes with turf races from Santa Anita Park and Gulfstream.

Players can find weekly entries, updates, results and additional handicapping tools on twitter @1stBet #Stronach5.

The Stronach 5 In the Money podcast, hosted by Jonathan Kinchen and Peter Thomas Fornatale, will be posted by 2 p.m. Thursday at InTheMoneyPodcast.com and will be available on iTunes and other major podcast distributors

Friday's Stronach 5 Sequence

o   Leg One: Laurel Park 8th Race (11 entries, 5 ½ furlong): 3:50 ET, 12:50 PT

o   Leg Two: Gulfstream Park 7th Race (9 entries, 1 mile turf): 4:03 ET, 1:03 PT

o   Leg Three: Golden Gate Fields 3rd Race (9 entries, 5 ½ furlongs): 4:44ET, 1:44 PT

o   Leg Four:  Santa Anita Park 4th Race (8 entries, 1 mile turf): 5:29  ET, 2:29 PT

o   Leg Five: Gulfstream Park Race 10th Race (12 entries, 1 1/16 miles turf): 5:33 ET, 2:33 PT

The minimum wager on the multi-race, multi-track Stronach 5 is $1. If there are no tickets with five winners, the entire pool will be carried over to the next Friday.

For the Stronach 5, if a change in racing surface is made after the wagering closes, each selection on any ticket will be considered a winning selection. If a betting interest is scratched, that selection will be substituted with the favorite in the win pool when wagering closes.

The Maryland Jockey Club serves as host of the Stronach 5.

Twitter Twitter
Paulick Report on Instagram