Turfy Stronach 5 On Tap For Friday

by | 10.23.2019 | 3:35pm
Racing over the turf at Laurel Park

Friday's Stronach 5 will challenge handicappers with races from Laurel Park, Santa Anita Park, Golden Gate Fields and Gulfstream Park with four of the five races scheduled on the turf.

The Stronach 5, featuring a $100,000 guaranteed pool, begins at 4:19 ET with 11 allowance runners going 1 1/16 miles on Laurel's world-class turf course. After turf races at Santa Anita and Gulfstream, a dozen runners will go six furlongs in a starter allowance race on the all-weather surface at Golden Gate. The final leg of the sequence will return to Laurel for a mile turf event for 2-year-old fillies.

Friday's races and sequence

  • Leg One – Laurel Park 9th Race: (11 entries, 1 1/16 miles turf) 4:19 ET, 1:19 PT
  • Leg Two –Santa Anita Park 2nd Race: (6 entries, 5 ½ furlongs turf) 4:32 ET, 1:32 PT
  • Leg Three –Gulfstream Park 8th Race: (10 entries, 7 ½ furlongs turf) 4:43 ET, 1:43 PT
  • Leg Four – Golden Gate Fields 3rd Race: (12 entries, 6 furlongs) 4:51 ET, 1:51 PT
  • Leg Five – Laurel Park 10th Race: (13 entries, 1 mile turf) 5 ET, 2 PT

The minimum wager on the multi-race, multi-track Stronach 5 is $1. If there are no tickets with five winners, the entire pool will be carried over to the next Friday.

If a change in racing surface is made after the wagering closes, each selection on any ticket will be considered a winning selection. If a betting interest is scratched, that selection will be substituted with the favorite in the win pool when wagering closes.

The Maryland Jockey Club serves as host of the Stronach 5.

Twitter Twitter
Paulick Report on Instagram