NHC, BCBC, Big One Berths Up For Grabs in Maryland Jockey Club Champions Handicapping Tournament

by | 07.17.2019 | 12:48pm

Registration begins Saturday, July 20 for the second and final session of the 2019 Maryland Jockey Club Champions Handicapping Tournament to be held Saturday, Aug. 17 in the second-floor clubhouse sports bar at Laurel Park.

Berths to the NTRA National Handicapping Championship (NHC), Breeders' Cup Betting Challenge (BCBC) and BIG ONE tournaments are on the line, as well as guaranteed prize money to the top 10 finishers.

A maximum of two entries per person will be accepted at a cost of $300 each, covering the $100 entry fee and $200 bankroll. The Champions Tournament will be capped at 300 entries.

The tournament winner will have their choice of one of two berths to the NHC or a berth in the BCBC or BIG ONE. The second-place finisher has the choice of one of the remaining three berths, the third-place finisher has the choice of the final two berths, and the fourth-place finisher will receive the remaining berth.

Tracks available for the tournament are Laurel Park, Gulfstream Park, Saratoga Race Course, Monmouth Park and Woodbine. The minimum wager is $20, with no mandatory races.

Alex Bertram of Kingsville, Md. ended the spring session of the MJC Champions Handicapping Tournament March 16 at Laurel with a bankroll of $4,067 to edge runner-up Mark Sapperstein of Baltimore by a difference of $50.20.

Registration by credit card can be done by calling 301-470-5432 before noon Friday, Aug. 16. Picture ID is required at check-in.

Mail-in registrations will also be accepted if they are received on or before Wednesday, Aug. 14.

For a registration form or further information, email Diana Harbaugh at [email protected]marylandracing.com before noon Friday, Aug. 16 or visit www.laurelpark.com/handicapping/champions-tournament

The BIG ONE takes place Sept. 21-22 at Laurel Park, while the BCBC will be Nov. 1-2 at Santa Anita and the NHC is held February 7-9, 2020 at Bally's Las Vegas.

Live racing returns to Laurel Park with an eight-race program Thursday, July 18. First race post time is 1:10 p.m.

Twitter Twitter
Paulick Report on Instagram