by | 11.17.2010 | 12:47am

By Ray Paulick

In this week's American Graded Stakes standings brought to you by Keeneland, we'll take a quick mid-season look at the Grade 1 stakes winners.

There have been 38 G1 races run in the United States thus far this year, won by 33 different horses, the only repeat winners being Zenyatta, with three, and Quality Road, Blind Luck, and Proviso, with two G1 wins each.

Where did those 33 runners come from? The vast majority, 23 of them, were bred in Kentucky. Virginia checked in second, with three G1 winners, Ireland and California have two each, with Florida, New York and Great Britain, at one each.

Nineteen of this year's G1 winners were sold at public auction, with Keeneland's September yearling sale dominating the results, having sold 12 of them. Taylor Made Sales Agency is the only consignor to have sold two G1 winners this year (Devil May Care and Drosselmeyer). The average price of a 2010 G1 winner sold at public auction is $218,421, with a median price of $160,000. (Note that these statistics do not include horses offered but either withdrawn or not sold. The prices used to calculate average and median is the most recent transaction for those horses sold more than one time.)

Medaglia d'Oro leads the way among sires of G1 winners, with three (Warrior's Reward, Champagne d'Oro, and Gabby's Golden Gal). Candy Ride, Malibu Moon, and Street Cry have two each.

Only two owners have won G1 races with more than one horse: Michael Talla (Crisp and Mona de Momma) and WinStar Farm (Super Saver, Drosselmeyer). No breeder has produced more than one G1 winner thus far in 2010.

Todd Pletcher has won six G1 races with five different horses to pace all trainers. John Sadler and John Shirreffs have won four G1 races each, Bob Baffert, Jerry Hollendorfer and Bill Mott winning three each. That means 23 of 38 G1 races run in 2010 (60%) have been won by one of six trainers.

Four jockeys have divided much of the G1 wealth, with Mike Smith leading the way with six wins (three on Zenyatta). John Velazquez, who is Pletcher's No. 1 rider, has five, as does Martin Garcia. Rafael Bejarano has four. So the top four jockeys in this category have taken 20 of 38 G1 races run this year.

It's not an easy club to join.

Twitter Twitter
Paulick Report on Instagram