Report: Secret Gesture Connections Considering Appeal Of Beverly D. DQ

by | 08.16.2015 | 8:47am
Secret Gesture finishes first in the Grade 1 Beverly D but was disqualified for interference
Secret Gesture finishes first in the Grade 1 Beverly D but was disqualified for interference

The connections of Secret Gesture, who was disqualified to third due to stretch interference in Saturday's G1 Beverly D. Stakes, are considering appealing that decision, according to the Racing Post.

David Redvers, racing manager to part-owners Qatar Racing, called the situation “slightly bonkers.”

“It's tough, if you'd run the race another ten times Secret Gesture would win it every time, she was given an inspired ride by Jamie [Spencer],” Redvers said on At the Races Sunday morning. “It seems desperately unfair and unjust and we're looking at appealing.

“They run by different rules over there so we've just got to see whether or not common sense will prevail.”

Read more at the Racing Post

  • Steve

    I thought the stewards call was correct given the circumstances, HOWEVER Ortiz Jr. stopped riding his horse completely before the finish, even when the danger had passed, costing his horse 2nd place which ultimately would have been 1st place after the winner was disqualified and Watsdachances would have stayed in the spot he deserved – 3rd. Skewed outcome all things considered

  • chip

    funny thing, racetrackers[trainers,exercise riders,grooms] thought the order should stay as finished. betters thought the stewarts were correct. just an observation

    • keyne

      It’s pretty simple.The rule states..”keep a straight path to the wire”.The mare,although probably best,did not do that.If you don’t want your fate in the stewards hands,run straight.No sympathy for horses who veer out or duck in sharply.When this kind of action causes an accident that takes the career of a Dominguez.or Rene Douglas,everyone would have a different opinion…

  • AngelaFromAbilene

    Appeal all you want, the mare looked like a drunk driver on the highway.

    • Kelso5timeHOTY

      Hardly. Sure she came out, but ortiz was on full acting display here.

      • Nancy Taylor

        Nice academy award performance by Jockey Ortiz. The NBA would have fined him for “flopping”. Too bad his mare lost the photo for 2nd after the acting job. Believe the judges would have left the original winner up if Ortiz would have finished 2nd. The connections of Secret Gesture really got screwed because of both riders involved. Sadly, no justice in the end. The third best filly ended up winning.

Twitter Twitter
Paulick Report on Instagram