On April 26, the California Horse Racing Board met at Betfair Hollywood Park and discussed the 25-day requirement for claimers as well as the clenbuterol ban for Quarter Horses and changes to the medication policy, reports the Blood-Horse.
Under the previous claiming rule in California, if a horse was claimed out of a race, trainers were required to wait 25 days before starting the horse at or below the level at which it was claimed. To start the horse before the 25 days had passed the horse had to start for a claiming price that was 25 percent higher. Under the new rule, only a horse that wins the race and is claimed must adhere to the 25 percent increase. All other horses that are claimed may start at the same level before 25 days have passed.
The board also approved an extension of a ban of Clenbuterol in Quarter Horse racing. Discussion of the banning of Clenbuterol in Thoroughbred racing is expected to come at May's CHRB meeting. Other medication discussion included the adoption of a policy change that doubles the penalty for “Category B” second offenses from one year to two years. The penalty for three “Category B” offenses was also extended from one year to five years.
New to the Paulick Report? Click here to sign up for our daily email newsletter to keep up on this and other stories happening in the Thoroughbred industry.
Copyright © 2016 Paulick Report.